Now Reading
Here are the big winners of the 2020 Baeksang Awards

Here are the big winners of the 2020 Baeksang Awards


Dubbed ‘Oscars of Korea,’ the 56th annual Baeksang Arts Awards commenced today, June 5, 2020 at the Korea International Exhibition Centre (KINTEX) in Ilsanseo Gu of Gyeonggi Province. Despite the ongoing worldwide crisis, the event pushed through and gathered prominent names in the Korean entertainment industry.

This date is set to honor and celebrate the cream of the crop in acting, directing, and screenwriting, who have captured the audience around the globe.

Garnering the most number of nominations for this year, is the Oscar-winning film and widely-appreciated Parasite, and the television drama that topped the nomination list this year is KBS show When the Camelia Blooms. Netflix film Time to Hunt and Netflix drama series Kingdom also received two nominations each.

Best TV Actress winner Kim Hee-Ae

This year’s Baeksang Arts Awards winners included this generation’s most famous celebrities and actors. It was announced by equally talented artists namely Kim Hye Ja, actor Jung Woo Sung, Girls’ Generation member Seohyun, Private Life actor Go Kyung Pyo, Train actor Yoon Shi Yoon, actress Lee Jae In, actor Kim Young Kwang, and actress Kim Hye Yoon.

Taking home most of the bacon are are House of Hummingbird, The Man Standing Next, When the Camelia Blooms, and The World of the Married.

Here is the complete winners list of Baeksang Arts Awards 2020:

Best Drama – Stove League from SBS
Best Director – Mo Wan Ill for The World of the Married
Best Variety Show – Mr. Trot from TV Chosun
Best Educational Show – Giant PengTV from EBS
Best Screenplay – Lim Sang Choon for When the Camellia Blooms

Best Actor – Kang Ha Neul for KBS2 series When the Camellia Blooms
Best Actress – Kim Hee Ae for JTBC series The World of the Married
Best Supporting Actor – Oh Jung Se for KBS2 drama When the Camellia Blooms
Best Supporting Actress – Kim Sun Young for tvN series Crash Landing on You

Best New Actor – Ahn Hyo Seop for SBS drama Dr. Romantic 2
Best New Actress – Kim Da Mi for JTBC drama Itaewon Class
Best Male Entertainer – Yoo Jae Suk for MBC show How Do You Play?
Best Female Entertainer – Park Na Rae for MBC show Home Alone (I Live Alone)
Best Technical Achievement – Jang Yeon Ok for Great Escape

Best Film – Parasite
Best Film Director – Kim Bora for House of Hummingbird
Best Screenplay – Lee Sang Geum for Exit

Best Actor – Lee Byung Hun for The Man Standing Next
Best Actress – Jeon Do Yeon for Birthday
Best Actor in Theatre – Baek Seok Gwang for Wife
Best Actress in Theatre – Kiim Jeong for Rotterdam

Best Supporting Actor – Lee Gwang Soo for Inseparable Bros
Best Supporting Actress – Kim Sae Byeok for House of Hummingbird
Best New Actor – Park Myung Hoon for Parasite
Best New Actress – Kang Mal Geum for Lucky Chan Sil

Best New Film Director – Kim Do Young for Kim Ji Young: Born 1982
Best Technical Achievement – Kim Seo Hee for The Man Standing Next
Bazaar Icon – Seo Ji Hye
TikTok Popularity Award – Hyun Bin and Son Ye Jin

Scroll To Top